logo hvt
asean travel and tours. asean travel and tours. asean travel and tours. asean travel and tours. asean travel and tours. asean travel and tours.
• Site Around City
 
 • Chiang Dao Caves • Doi Angkhang • Ang Khang Royal Agricultural Station • Fang Hot Spring • Mae Sa waterfalls • Doi Tao Lake • Wat Phrathat Doi Suthep • Wat Chedi Luang • Wat Chiang Man • Wat Chet Yot • Wat Phra Sing • Wat Ku Tao • Wat Suan Dok • Chiang Mai National Museum • Wat Thaton • Phra That Doi Noi Temple • Tribal Museum • Phra Borom That Saen Hai • Wiang Tha Kan • Yi Peng Festival • Bo Sang Umbrella Festival • City Pillar Inthakin Festival • Doi Suthep Pilgrimage • Flower Festival • Chiang Mai Night Bazaar • Songkran Festival • Scorpion-Tailed River Cruise • Khantoke Dinner • Huai Luek Royal Project Development Centre • Traditional Cotton Woven Village • Baan Hmong Mae Sa Mai • Mountain Orchid • Mae Sa Snake Farm • Huai Phak Phai Royal Project • Thriving Sunday Market • San Kamphaeng Village • Queen Sirikit Botanic Garden • Mae Rim Monkey School • Chiang Mai Night Safari • Mae Sa Elephant Camp • Chiang Dao Elephant Training Center • Pha Daeng National Park • Doi Luang Chiang Dao • Mae Fang National Park • Doi Inthanon • Doi Inthanon National Park • Mae Tho National Park • Op Luang National Park • Huai Nam Dang National Park • Doi Suthep-Doi Pui National Park • Si Lanna National Park
 
Wat Chedi Luang
This structure is a Buddhist temple in the historic center of Chiang Mai, Thailand. The current temple grounds were originally made up of three temples, Wat Chedi Luang, Wat Ho Tham and Wat Sukmin.
The construction of the temple started in the 14th century, when King Saen Muang Ma planned to bury the ashes of his father there. After 10 years of building time it was left unfinished, later to be continued after the death of the king by his widow. Probably due to stability problems it took until mid-15th century to be finished during the reign of king Tilokaraj. It was then 82 m high and had a base diameter of 54 m, at that time the largest building of all Lanna. In 1468, the Emerald Buddha was installed in the eastern niche. In 1545, the upper 30 m of the structure collapsed after an earthquake, and shortly thereafter, in 1551, the Emerald Buddha was moved to Luang Prabang.
In the early 1990s the chedi was reconstructed, financed by UNESCO and the Japanese government. However the result is somewhat controversial, as some claim the new elements are in Central Thai style, not Lanna style. For the 600th anniversary of the chedi in 1995, a copy of the Emerald Buddha made from black jade was placed in the reconstructed eastern niche. The icon is named official Phra Phut Chaloem Sirirat, but is commonly known as Phra Yok. On the temple grounds is the city pillar (Lak Mueang) of Chiang Mai, named Sao Inthakin. It was moved to this location in 1800 by King Chao Kawila; it was originally located in Wat Sadeu Muang. He also planted three diptocarp tree there, which are supposed to assist the city pillar to protect the town.
In a viharn near the entrance to the temple is the Buddha statue named Phra Chao Attarot (Eighteen-cubit buddha), which was cast in the late 14th century. On the other side of the chedi is another pavilion housing a reclining buddha statue.
 
JTA Tours
Country
City
Style
Length
Country
City
Star
Country
Departure
Arrival
google icon

tours-border


Head office: 4th Floor 18 Yen Ninh Str, Ba Dinh Dist, Hanoi, Vietnam. Tel: +84 90 493 0000. Email: sale@jtatours.com
Copyright © 1996 - 2016 Journey To Asian.
Vietnam Tour | Myanmar Tours | Halong Cruise Tours | Vietnam Flight Ticket | Indochina Tours | Indochina Travel | Cambodia Tours | Cambodia Travel | Laos Tours | Laos Travel| Links To Us


swimwear for women

bao moi

mon an ngon

tin nhanh

asta   iata   pata